1.jpg

MUSIC.

ART.

DANCE.

SPOKEN WORD. COMMUNITY.

We Belong Here

EVENTS

RECENT

EVENTS

WE BELONG HERE III:

EXHIBITION AND OPEN-MIC NIGHT

3#

We Belong Here III took place at Freedom Mills, Leeds on the 21st September 2019 with the theme of love & sculpture. The open mic featured a range of local singers, poets and performers including Manuka (@justmanuka), Simone Yasmin (@_etherealtruth) and J Kas (@jkasmusic) and hosted by Denmarc Creary (@denmarccreary).

Artists exhibited: Lewis Andrews (@lewis_andrews_art), Gideon Conn (@gideonconn), Jas Lewis-Henman (@jlh_illustrations), Miolini (@mio.lini), Bryony Wong (@bryonywongdesign), Lucy Crump (@lucrump), Stella-Jane Odoemelam (@stellajanedesign), Evdokia Georgiou (@ev.geo), Natalia Riabova (@21_century_fox_n) and Katya Kan (@katyakan).

Photography by Michael Godsall (@michael_godsall)

2021 -

2020-

swipe2.png

KOBY FASHION FUNDRAISER

AUGUST 2019

The KOBY Fundraiser Fashion show was a night of creativity and fashion, showcasing 5 local designers and their very own lines, original dance choreography, local musicians and a variety of art. All funds went towards sponsoring many children from the local community to train in all foundations of dance with King Kompany and KOBY Studios for a whole year. The event was hosted by We Belong Here & Koby Studios at The Chapel Leeds on the 10th August 2019.

For more information about Koby Studios please visit their Instagram

@kobyleeds

I.C UNDISPUTED

JUNE 2019

I.C Undisputed was a live curated performance by the rapper I.C featuring DJ Chris, curated and managed by We Belong Here. The solo show took place at Koby Studios, Leeds on the 20th June 2019.

I.C. a Leeds based rapper, creates music with a high focus on distinct unique concepts and in-depth poetry, coupled with a range of complex rhythms and passionate elocution. His lyrics invite listeners to both burst with laughter and challenge the ethos of contemporary philosophies and systems in place today.

Chris Lightowler , originally from Leicester, is a DJ and Musician based in Leeds. His vast range of musical expertise ranges from old school Hip Hop all the way to Electronic and Experimental Future Bass music. Chris also works as a professional Sound Engineer & Music Producer and wants to reinvent the creative content network and create a sustainable future encompassing many diverse forms of expression.

2#

WE BELONG HERE II:

EXHIBITION AND OPEN-MIC NIGHT

We Belong Here II took place at Koby Studios on the 25th May 2019. It was hosted by Omari Swanston-Jeffers and featured a variety of local dancers, singers and spoken word poets. The 12 artists exhibited submitted work based on the theme

Artists exhibited: Amelia Wood (@ameliafranceswood), Denisa Kreitzer (@denisakreitzer), James Gray (@jamesgrayleeds), Prya Kaur (@kaur_prya), Lauren Asquith (@lauren_asquith), Kit George (@kitgeorgeart), Lucy Teoh (@lucyteoh), Catrina Nisbett (@cat.catnis), Bethany Chamberlain (@beths_artoclock), Ethan Jerome (@creativemind_studio)

Photography by Michael Godsall (@michael_godsall)

swipe2.png

WE BELONG HERE:

EXHIBITION AND OPEN-MIC NIGHT

The one that started it all was We Belong Here: an exhibition and open-mic night which took place at Koby Studios on the 22nd February 2019. It was hosted by James Connolly (@jamesconnollycomedy) and featured performances from Koby Studio's dancers as well as local poets and singers. The artists featured in the exhibition all submitted work which responded to the theme of community.

Artists exhibited: Roisin Kerslake-Sim (@roisin_thought_art), Lucy Teoh (@lucyteoh), Kathy Ng (@kathyng.art), Ami Vadi (@ami.vadi), Lydia Owen (@lyd.creates.art), Bianca De Luca (@bwhite.photo), Merrex Bal (@merrezbalart), Connor Nickols (@the_bread_thief_), Joy Rooney (@joyrooneystudio), Edie Martin-Harris (@edie_illustration6), Emily Leake (@e.leake_art), and Denisa Kreitzer (@denisakreitzer).

Photography by Michael Godsall (@michael_godsall)

1#

2019 -